Building My Shelves and My Confidence

Big news… The industrial pipe shelves are officially done!

If you haven’t been along for the ride that has been creating my industrial pipe shelves, check out my last blog post to catch up.  As you may have picked up from my last post, when I first started this project I was feeling frustrated and not confident that I could even finish.

Now? I feel like I could tackle anything.

In order to create my industrial pipe shelves, I had to use a few tools that I had never touched before.  By jumping in and giving it a try, I realized that I need to approach challenging things with a different mindset.  Through this project, and other MAET projects, I’ve realized that I preach to my students about having a growth mindset and not being afraid to fail.  However, when it comes to myself, I don’t often take my own advice.

To say I was terrified to use a miter saw, electric sander, and wood stain was an understatement.  These tools and products are all things that I’ve seen my mom and dad use throughout the years, but never ever felt that I could use them to create something.  However, knowing that this project needed to get done and that I was the one that needed to do it made me jump in a little faster than I typically would have.

Speaking of my mom and dad, my parents are VERY handy people.  They have renovated their own home, along with helping my brother renovate his, and everything they touch turns out beautifully.  So, you may imagine how challenging it was not being able to ask them to show me or explain how to do something. “The meaning of ‘knowing’ has shifted from being able to remember and repeat information to being able to find and use it” (Bransford, Brown, & Cocking, 2000).  I learned more than I could have ever imagined by actually doing what I learned.  Instead of being able to rely on my parents to show me how something was done, I had to find the information myself, and implement it myself.  I feel like I learned more by finding it and using it than I would have had I been shown.  It was a little strange using the internet as my teacher, but I loved that I could watch an example, and re-watch when I felt I needed a little more guidance.  Before I explain my step-by-step process of creating my shelves, I have to give my internet teachers a little shout out.

First and foremost, my inspiration for the whole project came from Joanna Gaines’ blog At Home.

I learned how to cut my PVC Pipes with a Miter Saw from DIY Chad on YouTube.

I watched Bruce Johnson sand and stain wood on YouTube as well. (And I’m glad I did because I would NEVER have known that you’re supposed to wipe the stain off!)

I hope that I can be someone else’s internet teacher when it comes to creating industrial pipe shelves (on a budget too!).  So, I have created a video showing step-by-step what I did to create my shelves.

Action Steps

Click on the link for my printable Google Doc detailing each step on how I created my industrial pipe shelves!

Unfortunately, I have not moved into my new place yet so the shelves have not officially been hung up. But, they are ready when the time comes! I can’t wait to brag to all of my guests that those shelves were hand-crafted by yours truly.  Stay tuned for the updated photos of my hung shelves with décor on them!

plan
My planned out industrial pipe shelves, complete with measurements.

If I can do this, so can you! My words of advice to the next person tackling industrial pipe shelves, or any new project, is to jump right in and try these new things you’ve never done before. You’ll be surprised with what you can do. I’m so glad that I was able to get out of my own head and get to work on this project. The finished product is better than I ever could have imagined.

 

Read Part 1 and Part 2 of my Industrial Pipe Shelf journey!

References

Bransford, J. D., Brown, A. L., & Cocking, R. R. (2000). How people Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School. Washington: National Academy Press.

 

Leave a Reply

